The Beach Boys

Do it now.

There is a Beach Boys memorial in Hawthorne.

I drive by it all the time and think to myself, “I should go over there and see it”, but I never do. You see, my mom listened to all kinds of music when I was young. I listened to as much Alabama as New Edition and classics like Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes.

There is a little sign on 120th Street that tells you that there is a monument if you turn down this little side street. I didn’t know what was down there or how far away it was from the main street, so I didn’t go. I was usually driving somewhere else and didn’t have time to stop right then. Today, I abruptly turned down that little street.

My mom is dead. My grandmother is dead. We don’t have as much time as we think we have. I don’t want to be on my deathbed thinking of all the things I wish I had done. I could hit by a bus tomorrow. I want to go knowing that I have lived, laughed, danced, eaten, cried, traveled, and gotten the most out of my time on this planet….. so I stopped by the Beach Boys Memorial …. and I’m going to Japan in a few hours.

What have you been passing by waiting for a “more convenient” time?

PEACE,
Shay

Leave a Reply

