Suggestions for Hiking Havasu Falls With a Toddler?

 Havasu Falls ponds

Havasu Falls ponds

I just saw this beautiful photo of Havasu Falls and now I’m obsessed with hiking this super pretty, and wild, trail to reach the blue-green water. I’d like to bring my partner and toddler along if that’s possible. Some sites rate the hike as a 2 and I know that my toddler probably won’t be able to hike it. My question is: can I hike it while babywearing him?

Babywearing at the Cape of Good Hope in South Africa.

Babywearing at the Cape of Good Hope in South Africa.

We usually use our mei tei and I’ve carried him on three continents so far to things as mundane and shopping and as adventurous and climbing to the viewing platform over the Cape of Good Hope so we’ve been around the block a bit. The easiest thing would be to throw him in the carrier and hike down the 12 miles. Hang out and swim and whatnot for a bit. Stay over and let my partner hike him back up (sshhhhh! that’s the harder bit, I’ve heard).

Havasu Falls Waterfall

Havasu Falls Waterfall

Do you think it’s possible?

 

Some helpful sites I’ve found so far:

Ordinary Traveler

Wild Backpacker

 

Leave a Reply

