Thrifting in Guam

I’ve been on Guam for a week now. I made a list of things I wanted to learn more about (Chamorro history, World War II’s Pacific Theatre, thrifting, and marine life near the reef). Most of these things have easily accessible buildings that contain what I want but finding thrift stores on the island was a challenge. Today I got up and went to three thrift stores: Island Girl Thrift, Salvation Army, and Thrift Addict. I’m thankful I was able to find them because both review sites (like Yelp!) and the non-profit’s own websites didn’t provide complete addresses and/or accurate directions. The GPS wasn’t helpful either. I got close to Island Girl but missed it. While driving around a bit more I was able to find it, but it was ll luck. I’m going to provide directions you dear reader so your thrifting adventures will be a little easier.

20170120_172610

Island Girl Thrift (Dededo)

#359 Ysengsong Rd.
Dededo, Guam 96929

Island Girl Thrift has a little bit of everything. It’s kind of like digging through your grandma’s attic …  and sometimes that is awesome! I found lots of odds and ends, some baby clothes and toys, and a TON of books.

I purchased so much stuff from this place (including a children’s book about Chamorro history) that I thought I might have to buy another bag to fly home with. It was difficult for me to find based on the directions online but once you know where it is, it’s super easy. Coming from the main street, you’ll turn on to Ysengsong Road and pass the school. Once you’ve passed the school, look on the same side the school is on and you’ll see the side of the building that the thrift store is inside of. There is also a large trailer that says something about girl power (if I’m remembering correctly). It’s surrounded by a chain link fence right on the corner.

20170120_181049

Salvation Army (Tamuning)

500 Governor Carlos Camacho Road
Tamuning, Guam 96921

The store has mostly clothes, books, and random items. I found a few things here but nothing to save about. It’s right across the street from Hotel Santa Fe.

20170120_183903_hdr

Thrift Addict (Tamuning)

Unit 103 Megabyte Annex
Marine Corps Drive
Tamuning, Guam 96931

Yes, yes, and more yes! This is a really small boutique thrift store. There were so many items for kids (clothes and toys) that I went a little crazy. I actually found it while driving on the main drag looking for the Salvation Army. I’m am so glad that I stopped in. The service was friendly and the prices weren’t bad. I look forward to visiting again.

I had a great time thrifting in Guam and came home with some great, and cheap, souvenirs! Do you know of any thrift stores that I forgot? Drop the names and addresses in the comments.

Leave a Reply

